Adventures in Bread Making, Day 2

April 2, 2008 at 1:11 pm | Posted in Baking, crafting | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

(Where’s Day 1 you ask? Well it wasn’t captured on film. Sorry. It was way better than Day 2 so I am really kicking myself for not documenting my first stab at making bread, without a bread machine.)

I was so thrilled with the way my bread turned out on Day 1 that I decided to make more today.

Things started off well enough…Dough, risingIt rose beautifully. Twice. Then when it came time to “bake”, it all went to hell in a handbasket pretty quickly. I swear the drama is needed! Bread.Doesn’t it kind of look like it’s frowning? Like it knows it didn’t do it’s job and cook properly? There’s a pretty big divot in the middle, where it sunk down…I blame Libby the Dog for that. She was running amok in the kitchen at the time. I was also on the phone, which may have had something to do with it as well…who knows. Anyways, in case you wanted to know exactly what this bread is, I shall tell you! It is Microwave “Baked” English Muffin Bread, from a Weight Watchers Cookbook. Like English Muffins, this is best toasted, with jam…The first bread I “baked” turned out beautifully and was gobbled up pretty quickly too! This one, just isn’t aesthetically pleasing…Oh well. I’ll still eat it for brekkies!

I realized in my last post that I didn’t put up a picture of my knitting! So here are a bunch o’ knitting pictures.Dishcloths for Grandma!                                                                 The top white blob thing, is actually supposed to be the circular scrubbie from the dishcloth duo pattern from Knitability. It looks nothing like it is supposed to. I don’t know where I went wrong! Then there is the Ballband, which I made smaller because I found the first one I made was too bulky and cumbersome when doing the dishes.             

 Next up is “Nubbins”. Nubbins!It’s a pretty easy knit! I like the nubbins on the edge, makes it look all fancy! The pattern is from here: http://inahappycamper.eponym.com/Nubbins%20Dishcloth.pdf

I think that’s all for now! I hope to find time to break in the sewing machine! I have to make an apron by May for a gift, and I need to beef up my sewing skills! Here’s hoping the weekend brings lots of spare time! It’s also Cupcake Week on Martha! I am OBSESSED with CUPCAKES!!!!! I love eating them. I love baking them. I love looking at them. So, maybe I will make cupcakes this weekend…maybe I can find a “diet” version…since I don’t think cupcakes fit into the healthy living plan…

I’ll leave you with a pic of Libby, who I found sleeping on my bed. Doesn’t her expression say, “What the hell? I was sleeping here, leave me alone!” ??

   

Libby

                                                                                                              

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. look at you go with your creativity! i have been stalled… which is REALLY bad b/c i have someone waiting on an order for her shop. I need to be kicked into gear! do you have plans tomorrow night (friday)? we should create things together, if you don’t!

  2. Nubbins? Please tell me more.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

