Happy Leap Year!

February 29, 2008 at 10:54 am | Posted in crafting, random-ness, Thrifty, TV | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Well, it’s been awhile since I last wrote, so here’s a little update about what I’ve been up to.

First, I finished that Ballband dishcloth. Ballband DishclothI even weaved in the ends! So far, I am finding it difficult to actually use the dishcloth to wash the dishes, however I did use it as a pot holder and it held up pretty well! I need a new knitting project. Oh and some yarn. I’m itching to set up my new sewing machine, but I just haven’t had the time. Maybe I should make the time. I also finished the coffee cozy. Coffee Cozy 

It’s been “finished” for quite some time, but I just decided to weave in the ends and seam it up. It works fairly well. My sister said she’d use one, so maybe I’ll give it to her. Speaking of my dear sister, she ventured out to an indoor yard sale the other weekend and managed to find ONE book of knitting patterns. It’s for men’s socks, but I am pretty sure they can be decreased in size. Guess I better get some DPNs.

Here’s a picture of the front cover.Pattern Book                                      And here’s a picture of my favourite socks. Socks

 

 

 

 

Sadly I frogged the “Wavy” scarf. It was beyond my repairing abilities and was incredibly frustrating. I also wasn’t in love with the wool. It was a pretty colour but not nice against the skin. Oh well, I’ll attempt it again when I feel up to it!

I also started work. It’s interesting, but not in the mentally stimulating interesting kind of way. In the clients are interesting way….you get me? I also have really not done alot. There is no money left in the budget for me to have my own computer. Which sucks. So I really can’t do anything! We’ll see how this goes. I’ve also applied for a job with the local Children’s Services agency, so maybe something will come of that. The library has yet to give me an interview. Guess I’ll have to volunteer…

And lastly, I am obsessed with British programming. If I had the BBC I probably wouldn’t leave the house. Good thing W and HGTV provide me with my fixes. What I’m watching right now: Cook Yourself Thin –>Yummy recipes that are good for the waistline!; Colin and Justin’s Home Heist –> I love these guys!!! They have some other shows that are filmed in Britain, but this show is all Canadian! Also, I am still trying to figure out if Steven and Chris are Canada’s answer to Colin and Justin…I’m just not sure.; How Clean is Your House? –> Seriously Kim is awesome. I want to be her when I am old : ); Location –> Just a home hunting show.; How to Look Good Naked –> Way better than the American knock off. Gok is waaaaaay better than Carson. Even though I’ve never actually watched the American version…but I did see a preview on Oprah, so I can make judgements. Go ahead, check your local listings so you can watch these programmes too!

Phew. That’s along one. Now it’s snowing…2nd storm in a week! And I have to go stock up on groceries. Also, I am starting a healthy eating plan. I’m not calling it a diet. I’m eating smaller (i.e correct!) portions of food, lightening up some recipes and trying to get in the recommended servings of fruits and veg, grains, protein and dairy. Next, I need to tackle the exercise part of my plan…Maybe I’ll call it a Healthy Living Plan…

Anywho, I’m off to the market!

 

(edited to add pics of Colin and Justin and Steven and Chris…just for a visual)

Colin and Justin photo from HGTV.caColin and Justin

Steven and Chris photo from CBC.caSteven and Chris

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like Colin and Justin better…they’re just funnier, and I can’t resist an accent, no matter what!

  2. hey!

    I’ve been making ballband dishclothes too! I haven’t used them yet.

  3. hey you have a blog! that is muchos cool. and man does that owl thing look familiar at the top! (is it a photo of the milk jug that i have, or one that you got at value village too?!)

    I don’t know if this tip is useful for you, but when you’re editing your journal entry on wordpress, if you select the image and then hit LEFT or RIGHT, it will allign it so that the text is with it, rather than being a big gap where the image is. i don’t know if that makes sense, but i do that on my site and it takes up less room 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

